The Fabric of the Cosmos

| March 24, 2012 | 0 Comments

“The Fabric of the Cosmos,” a four-hour series based on the book by a famous physicist, author and a string theorist Brian Greene, who takes us on a journey to the frontiers of physics to see how scientists are piecing together the most complete picture yet of space, time, and the universe. With each step, the author digs deeper beneath the surface of our everyday experience lies towards a startling world far stranger and more wondrous than anyone expected.

Much of what we thought we knew about our universe—that the past has already happened and the future is yet to be, that space is just an empty void, that our universe is the only universe that exists—just might be wrong according to Brian Greene. Thus let’s go on a journey to the objective reality behind the everyday expectations with the greatest experts in the field.

Fabric of the Cosmos by Brian Greene


Like “The Elegant Universe” (also by Brian Greene) this documentary aims at explaining deep physics stuff to the wide audience. The host itself, as I like to say, is one of those rare creatures called charismatic physicists and to be honest he does a good job of keeping the audience interested. Like most of the newer documentaries, this one has a perfect mix of important physics concepts and fun stuff like stunning visuals, nice graphical demonstrations and interviews with a variety of physicists. Among the famous scientist appearing on the show you can find interviews and comments from S. James Gates, Joseph Lykken, Alex Filipenko and Leonar Susskind.

The show is a four hour TV series based on a famous book by the host (for the review of which tune in at the end of the week) of the same name. There are four parts/episodes, which include:

  • What is Space?
  • The Illusion of Time
  • Quantum Leep
  • Universe or Multiverse?



  1. Brian Greene’s Website
  2. The Fabric of the Cosmos DVD on Amazon




Tags: , , , ,

Category: Physics & Science Documentaries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *